The board of directors met on Tuesday, October 4 and enjoyed a lively discussion about our current jurying system for new members and the challenge of selecting jurors for our two annual exhibitions. It was decided we will revert back to two jurying sessions of applicants per year. Jurors will be selected with a background in arts administration, curators of art museums or department heads of art schools or universities to make sure they have knowledge of all media. Many other items were discussed including finances, our new Facebook page, our centennial year plans, just to name a few.

Three new members were juried in as members:

JoAnne Burkhard, Barbara Peterson and Steve Warner

Members Exhibition

The Art Museum of Greater Lafayette hosted and provided a generous reception for us, which was very well attended on Friday, September 23rd. Entry pick-up is Dec. 1st (Thursday) 11-4 and Dec. 2nd (Friday) 11-4. Contact James Hubbard, exhibit chairman at if you are able to help check entries out for a few hours either day.


Congratulations to our award winners:

Best of Show:

Jerry Smith — $1500

First Place:

David Cunningham — $800

Second Place:

Charlene Brown — $600

Third Place:

Bonnie Zimmer — $500

Merit Award:

Judy Crawford — $200

Merit Award:

Wendy Franklin — $200

 Merit Award:

Ruth Howell — $200

Merit Award:

Wyatt LeGrand — $200

Merit Award:

Michael McAuley — $200

Merit Award:

Donna Shortt — $200

Merit Award:

Arlyne Springer — $200

Merit Award:

James Weaver — $200

Student Award:

Jaqueline Gaeta-Perez — $100

Preparations are already underway for the 2017 Members Exhibition. It will be held at the Brown County Gallery in Nashville and will culminate our centennial year with a special celebration not to be missed! Exhibit dates are November 5th – December 17th.


Spring Juried Exhibition

 Please note that the prospectus will be sent in early December with entries due by Monday, January 16th. This is earlier than usual due to scheduling conflicts in April with many other events our membership participates in.

Please remember that dues of $35 are due in January whether entering the Spring Juried Exhibition or not. You can pay through the website, send a check to Indiana Artists, Inc. 2727 E 55th St. P.O. Box 20688, Indpls. IN  46220, or through Juried Arts Services when you enter the exhibition.

Sadly, we lost watercolorist Ted Englehart recently who was a member of Indiana Artists for many years. Our condolences go to his wife Dottie Shultz Englehart and his family who made a contribution to our endowment fund in his memory.


1917-2017- Hundredth Year Anniversary

We have made plans to celebrate our one hundredth anniversary through several different events coming up in 2017. Please be open to helping out in anyway you can- the organization doesn’t run itself. We want to continue to offer more and more opportunities for networking, educating and recognizing our talented artist members…and we need your help!


INA Board Members:

President – April Willy

Membership Exhibition –James Hubbard

Annual Exhibition – Laurie Wright, Pam Newell

Social Media Chair/Website–Donna Shortt

Secretary – Carrie Wild

New Member Applicants-Susan Mauck

Publications – Dan Annarino

Historian – Rena Brouwer

Advisor – Linda S Cannon

Advisor – Michael McAuley

Advisor – Jerry Points

Past President – Pamela Newell

Treasurer– Bill Wissel





© 2019 Indiana Artists. All rights reserved.  |  P.O. Box #20688, Indianapolis IN 46220  |  Site design by Sleeping Giant Creative